Faszination 24h Nürburgring.


Welcome to hell.


Welcome to hell.

Fascination 24h Nürburgring.Welcome to hell.

In 2018, the legendary Nürburgring-Nordschleife hosted the 24-hour race for the 46th time. To date, BMW has claimed more victories in the “Green Hell” than any other manufacturer. The brand currently has 19 overall triumphs to its name – of which eight were one-two finishes. The Nordschleife is the toughest circuit in the world – and that is why BMW puts every new production car to the ultimate endurance test there. The over 20 kilometre long circuit demands skill, courage and a cool head at all times.


“That was not the 24-hour race we had hoped for.”

Freak weather conditions, incidents and plenty of bad luck: the BMW representatives in the SP9 class endured a disappointing time at the 46th edition of the Nürburgring 24-hour race. In the end, it was Augusto Farfus, Markus Palttala, Christian Krognes and Fabian Schiller who crossed the line in 13th place to make the #102 Shell Helix BMW M6 GT3 the best-placed BMW car. They achieved this despite suffering the major setback of a collision during the opening phase of the race. The #33 BMW M6 GT3 from Falken Motorsports also lost the chance of securing a top finish during the first third of the race and finished in 15th position. The ROWE Racing team enjoyed even less luck during the race in the Green Hell: after claiming a great second place in 2017, the two BMW M6 GT3s (#98 and #99) both had to retire early. “Unfortunately, that was not the 24-hour race we had hoped for,” said BMW Motorsport Director Jens Marquardt. “Our pace was up there with the leading group and there were phases when we had the fastest car in the field. That makes it even more disappointing that some incidents and technical difficulties prevented us from getting involved in the battle for the top positions in the overall standings.” Even if BMW had no say in the fight for overall victory, the brand did record three class wins at the classic endurance race. In the BMW M235i Racing Cup class, Heiko Eichenberg, Yannick Mettler, Torsten Kratz and Tristan Viidas from the Team Securtal Sorg Rennsport finished ahead of the cars from Hofor Racing powered by Bonk Motorsport and the Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport. BMW customer teams also claimed class wins in the V4 and SP4 classes.



Eau Rouge Champions.

In 2016, principal Hans-Peter Naundorf’s team triumphed at the 24 Hours of Spa – in its first year with BMW. The team also impressed at the Nürburgring in the same year: fifth place overall with the number 23 BMW M6 GT3 represented the best result for a BMW-assisted team. In 2017, the team from St. Ingbert, in the Saarland region of Germany, stepped onto the podium.