DTM Hockenheim


DTM Class 1 era draws to a close at Hockenheim.


  • 01 Saturday: Fifth place for the South African in the CATL BMW M4 DTM.
  • 02 Saturday: A total of four BMW drivers reach the top ten.
  • 03 Sunday: The final DTM race of the Class 1 era ends with four BMW M4 DTMs in the top ten.
  • 04 Sunday: BMW DTM teams have competed in 339 races in 18 seasons since 1984, celebrating 89 wins and 307 podiums.


Fifth place for Jonathan Aberdein in the CATL BMW M4 DTM.

Jonathan Aberdein (CATL BMW M4 DTM) was the best-placed BMW driver in the penultimate race of the current DTM season, finishing in fifth position at the Hockenheimring. The result saw the South African driver move up two places to eleventh in the drivers’ standings. Robert Kubica from the privateer BMW customer team ART Grand Prix in eighth place and Philipp Eng (ZF BMW M4 DTM) and Sheldon van der Linde (Shell BMW M4 DTM) in ninth and tenth were the other three BMW drivers to finish in the points. 
Aberdein recorded the third-fastest time in qualifying but started from sixth position after the imposition of a grid penalty and was unable to break out of the back end of the field for a long period. However, a safety car period shortly before the end of the race gave him the opportunity to leap forward. He crossed the line in sixth position and then moved up once more to fifth after a penalty for Mike Rockenfeller (Audi). Aberdein now has 56 points and moves up from 13th to eleventh place in the drivers’ standings.
Things looked promising for some time for van der Linde, who stayed in touch with the leaders after starting fourth on the grid, but fell back towards the end of the race. Eng defended his top-ten position for the duration of the race, crossing the finish line in ninth place. Lucas Auer (BMW Bank M4 DTM) took the chequered flag in twelfth. The race was over for Marco Wittmann (Schaeffler BMW M4 DTM) after a collision at the very start. Timo Glock also suffered some bad luck: he was forced to retire his iQOO BMW M4 DTM just before the end.

Read more
DTM Hockenheim
We did as well as we could here.
Jens Marquardt
DTM Hockenheim


Jonathan Aberdein finishes in seventh place.

The Class 1 era in the DTM has drawn to a close with the 18th and final race of the 2020 DTM season at Hockenheim. Jonathan Aberdein was the best-placed BMW driver, finishing seventh in his CATL BMW M4 DTM. Behind him, Timo Glock (iQOO BMW M4 DTM) finished eighth to conclude the season as the best-placed BMW driver in the overall standings, in fifth place with 120 points. Philipp Eng (ZF BMW M4 DTM) and Sheldon van der Linde (Shell BMW M4 DTM) crossed the finish line in ninth and tenth positions. The South African driver finished sixth in the drivers’ standings. Marco Wittmann secured eleventh place in the final race in his Schaeffler BMW M4 DTM and completed the season in ninth place overall. Lucas Auer (BMW Bank M4 DTM) crossed the finish line in 16th place on Sunday. BMW scored 500 points in the manufacturers’ standings.
Between 1984 and 1992 and from 2012 to 2020, BMW competed in a total of 339 DTM races, recording 89 wins, 307 podiums and 75 pole positions. A BMW driver claimed the drivers’ title six times: Volker Strycek in 1984, Eric van de Poele in 1987, Roberto Ravaglia in 1989, Bruno Spengler in 2012, and Marco Wittmann in 2014 and 2016. Since the DTM comeback in 2012, BMW has completed 140 races and celebrated more than 40 wins. The manufacturers’ title went to Munich in 2012, 2013 and 2015.

Read more
I would like to thank the entire team for their tireless work and also express our appreciation for our DTM partners of many years’ standing and thank them for their loyalty and support.
Jens Marquardt