BMW M235i Racing

BMW M235i Racing Cup: Bonk Motorsport already team champions.

The Bonk Motorsport team has retained the title in the BMW M235i Racing Cup team championship.

At the penultimate race of the season in the VLN Endurance Championship Nürburgring, Michael Schrey celebrated his sixth consecutive class win in the #691 car and extended his team’s lead to an unassailable 50 points.

With the win, Schrey has a 50-point lead over second-placed Heiko Eichenberg in the drivers’ standings, however double points are awarded at the season finale, meaning that a maximum of 52 points are still available. On Saturday, victory in the eighth race of the BMW M235i Racing Cup class initially went to Yannick Fübrich and David Griessner from the Pixum Team Adrenalin Motorsport.

The duo received a time penalty after the race concluded, however, which demoted them to third in class. Eichenberg (Team Securtal Sorg Rennsport) claimed second place behind Schrey. A total of 18 cars completed in the CUP5 class.

Read more