• All
  • General
  • DTM
  • 24h Races
  • Formula BMW
  • BMW Sports Trophy
  • BMW Motorsport Junior Programme
  • USCC
  • Articles
  • Galleries
  • Videos
BMW Sports Trophy  Jan 28, 2013 Back to news overview
Chip Ganassi Racing triumphs in Daytona.

The number 01 BMW Riley run by Chip Ganassi Racing won the 24-hour classic in Daytona. Andy Priaulx escaped a crash.

Image %{cur} of %{total}

At the end of 709 laps of thrilling racing, Juan Pablo Montoya crossed the finish line with a 21.921 second lead over the second-placed Corvette. Over the course of the 24 hours, Montoya had alternated behind the wheel of the Daytona prototype, which was powered by a BMW engine, with Scott Pruett, Memo Rojas and Charlie Kimball. Victory for Pruett saw him draw level with the previous record winner Hurley Haywood on five wins.

This was the second overall victory in Daytona for Chip Ganassi Racing and BMW, following their triumph in 2011. Two years ago, the victorious team included BMW works driver Joey Hand. Hand was back behind the wheel for the team owned by US motor racing legend Chip Ganassi again this year. However, the number 02 BMW Riley failed to finish the race. Before retiring, Hand and his fellow drivers Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti and Jamie McMurray had also held the lead.

BMW was also represented in the GT class at this year’s 24 Hours of Daytona. However, the race weekend did not run entirely to plan for the Turner Motorsport team and its two BMW M3s. When a technical fault resulted in Andy Priaulx crashing in the final practice session, the number 93 car was so badly damaged that it was unable to start the race. As a result, Team Principal Will Turner lined up at the 24-hour marathon with just one BMW M3 (number 94). Bill Auberlen, Paul Dalla Lana, Billy Johnson, Boris Said and Maxime Martin alternated behind the wheel. Turner Motorsport ultimately had to settle for 18th in the GT class.

Prior to the start of the race, Priaulx had presented the Alzheimer’s charity “Highway to Help” with a cheque for 1000 dollars on behalf of Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts. The cheque was received by Brian Johnson, the lead singer in the band AC/DC.

Back to news overview