Welcome to “Green Hell”.

%{cur} of %{total}


The Nürburgring 24 Hours.

In 2014, the legendary Nürburgring-Nordschleife hosted the 24-hour race for the 42nd time. BMW has claimed more victories in the “Green Hell” than any other manufacturer. The company currently has 19 overall triumphs to its name – of which eight were one-twos. In total, BMW cars have picked up 167 class victories.

Image %{cur} of %{total}

In 1970, BMW was the first entry in the winners’ list at the Nürburgring 24 Hours, when Clemens Schickentanz and the young Hans-Joachim Stuck triumphed in a BMW 2002 ti. In 1998, Andreas Bovensiepen, Marc Duez, Christian Menzel and Stuck achieved the first victory for a car with a diesel engine: the BMW 320d. The last BMW victory dates back to 2010, when Augusto Farfus, Jörg Müller, Uwe Alzen and Pedro Lamy secured the win in a dramatic finale with their BMW M3 GT.

The Nordschleife is the toughest circuit in the world – and that is why BMW puts eve. The Nürburgring is like a second home for what is probably the best-known BMW Driving Experience base, with its extensive programme teaching participants how to drive safely and in a sporting manner. The Nürburgring “Erlebniswelt” in the Start/Finish area features the world’s only permanent exhibition of BMW racing cars. You can quite literally experience the allure of the Nordschleife as a passenger in the BMW Ring-Taxi – the BMW M5 is driven by experienced racing drivers and instructors.

In 2013, motorsport fans witnessed what was, based on actual driving time, the shortest 24-hour race ever in the "Green Hell". Rain and fog caused extreme conditions and resulted in a nine-hour stoppage. At the end of the 88 laps, BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS only narrowly missed out on claiming the 20th overall victory for BMW at the endurance classic. The number 25 BMW Z4 GT3 crossed the finish line second. BMW Sports Trophy Team Schubert also finished in the top ten, coming home sixth.

In 2014, the BMW Motorsport contingent was once again spearheaded by BMW Sports Trophy Team Schubert and BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS. After an unlucky race the #20 BMW Z4 GT3 of BMW Sports Trophy Team Schubert finished sixth. The #28 car of Walkenhorst Motorsport came home eighth. 

Powered by BMW Motorsport.

BMW Sports Trophy Team Schubert and BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS in profile.
Read more